Lever

On this page

Important notes

Sync Slack account

Please read this article on how to sync your Slack account to Lever. The Slack integration will send you updates about upcoming interviews ten minutes before the interview starts. It will include the candidate information as well as a link to view their resume/profile and to leave feedback.

How to view and follow candidates in Lever

When you log in to Lever, you will be brought to the Candidates page. At the top left corner, you can filter which candidates you are looking at. It's recommended for interviewers and hiring managers to select "Followed Candidates". Read more about the difference between the All owners, Owned by me, and Followed filters.

It is helpful to understand what "following" is in order to best make use of the function. If you would like to follow a candidate or role that you do not currently have access to, please reach out to People Ops.

You will be added as a follower to a candidate whenever you follow the role they applied for, or when someone else tags you in a candidate's profile. To unfollow a specific candidate, go to their candidate profile. Beneath their name is the word "Following"; click the word and it will unfollow you. To unfollow an entire role, please reach out to People Ops.

If you are on the go and would like to access Lever via your mobile device, please read about how to view a candidate on Mobile.

How to leave feedback in Lever

The best way to submit your feedback is to go straight to the Interviews page, where you will see all of your upcoming interviews and be able to click into each one to see the details and provide feedback, as well as keep track of your past and future interviews. All team members who have logged in to Lever have access to this page. It's recommended to open this page during your interview and write your notes live and submit them when finished.

At the end of the feedback form, you will be required to provide a vote of "Inclined", "Semi-Inclined", or "Not Inclined." You will also be asked to give an overall rating on a scale of 4 (4 = Strong Hire; 3 = Hire; 2 = No; 1 = Strong No). A rating of 3 or 4 is positive feedback and generally qualifies a candidate to move forward, while a score of 1 or 2 is negative feedback conveys the opposite. The vote helps to clarify these scores; for example, if you gave a rating of 3 and a vote of "Semi-Inclined", then that indicates hesitation and is a signal for others to look at your notes for clarification and more details. Otherwise most candidates fall into a rating of 3 or 4 with a vote of "Inclined" or a rating of 1 or 2 with a vote of "Not Inclined".

After you've integrated Slack with Lever, you'll receive a Slack message reminding you of your upcoming interview, with a link to the candidate's resume. When you click that link, it will show you the details for that particular interview. Please click "Feedback Form" under their name, and track your feedback in the text box(es) during your call. If you do not submit your feedback within an hour after your interview, Slack will send you a follow up message reminding you to leave feedback. You will also receive email reminders if you do not submit feedback promptly. You need to submit your feedback by going to the links Slack or email provide, or going directly to the Interviews page to complete your feedback in order to stop the reminders.

However, if for some reason the interview did not happen (no show, reschedule, etc.), go to the Interviews page and hover over the candidate's name. Click the "x" that appears, and you will be able to dismiss the feedback.

This is a rare occurrence, but if for some reason you need to add feedback manually (that is, you were not scheduled for an interview via Lever and the person is not on your Interviews page), you can go directly to their profile to give feedback. Next to the "Add Note" field at the top, click on the three dots "…" and choose "Add Feedback". Then choose the "General Feedback Form". Please note if you enter feedback this way, but the person is in your Interviews page, you will continue to get reminders to submit your feedback, since it will not be linked to the appropriate feedback ID.

There is an option to make feedback forms, notes, and emails "secret," but please leave all information public, unless it refers to sensitive candidate data such as compensation. Only People Ops team members and hiring managers should be discussing compensation information with candidates, so they should be the primary users of secret notes.

Changing stages for a candidate

The People Ops team are the only ones who should be changing stages for a candidate. GitLab has several stages in Lever, outlined below, which can be customized by reaching out to GitLab's Lever Implementation Specialist.

The "Lead" bucket is exclusively used by the Recruiting team for sourcing new candidates and communicating with them.

Within the "Applicant" bucket, "New Applicant" refers to all incoming applications; "Contacted" refers to candidates that the Recruiting team has reached out to for more information; "Assessment Sent" refers to candidates whom the Recruiting team has sent an opening questionnaire to, and "Assessment In Review" refers to candidates who have returned the questionnaire and need to be reviewed by a member of the appropriate hiring team. All members of the hiring team who review candidates can refer to the "Assessment In Review" stage to see what applications still needs review.

The "Interview" bucket keeps track of where candidates are in the process. They are moved into each new stage once they have successfully passed the prior stage; e.g. a candidate who does well in the Screening Call will be moved to First Video Interview while they are scheduling the interview and until feedback is received by the interviewer.

Changing jobs

If a candidate applies for a job but is a better fit for another job, or if they are added as a new lead, they will need to be added to a new job. To do this, go to the candidate profile, and under their name is a button that says "Add Job". If they are already a current or previous candidate for a role, the button will be right above those roles on the right. If this is the first job they are being added to, the button will be on the right.

Only the Recruiting team creates the Easy Book links for interviewers. When creating the links, the Recruiter will go to the Easy Book section in settings and click "New Link" in the top right corner.

At this time, there can only be one Easy Book link per email, so if you need to schedule multiple interviews at the same time please sent multiple emails with the subject titles as such: "GitLab Interview (1 of 3): Interviewer Name".

Upgrading Zoom accounts

All interviewers will conduct their interviews via Zoom, per the above point on Easy Books. To create a personal Zoom Room for someone, please follow the instructions in the handbook.

Archiving candidates

To remove a candidate from the active pipeline, they need to be archived in Lever, which should be done only by People Ops. Any time a candidate is archived, People Ops will email them letting them know, as they will not automatically be notified if we archive them. Only People Ops should be communicating rejections.

Individual candidates can be archived by clicking "Archive" in the top right corner of their profile and choosing the appropriate reason. You can also archive candidates in bulk, for example if the position has been filled. To do so, select the checkboxes for each candidate in the appropriate stage, click "Archive" from the actions that appear at the top, and choose the appropriate reason. Note: you can only choose one reason when archiving in bulk.

You can access all archived candidates by clicking on the "Archive" tab on the top right corner on the pipeline screen.

To unarchive a candidate, click "Unarchive" at the top right of their profile, choose the appropriate job they are being unarchived for, and they will be active again.

You can also snooze a candidate to remove them from the active pipeline but enable you to revisit them in a few weeks or months when the timing is more appropriate. To snooze someone, click on the clock at the top of their profile, input optional notes, and select how long you would like them snoozed for. You can view, edit, or delete the snooze by clicking on the same button. At the end of the selected time period, you will receive an email notification. Only the person who snoozed the candidate will receive the notification. To view all snoozed candidates, scroll the the bottom of the left sidebar and toggle "Snoozed". For candidates we think are great, but the timing or role is just not right, and snooze is not an appropriate option, please tag them with revisit.

Additional Lever information