GitLab encourages team members to use Nira to ensure good digital hygiene around who has access to their Google Drive documents, folders, and shared drives.
Nira is a real-time access control system that provides visibility and management over who has access to company documents in Google Workspace.
Nira is used by team members to be able to view and modify the sharing settings of documents that they own. Nira is also used by administrators of cloud applications, typically IT & Information Security teams, to review metadata and sharing settings of documents.
We chose Nira because of the easy to navigate interface, alerting mechanisms, flexible dashboards, and ease of use. This helps our teams respond to incidents, assist with offboarding, and help keep our Drive files secure.
"We take the security of your data seriously. Nira has also attained its International Organization for Standardization’s (ISO) 27001 certification. Nira has achieved its SOC 2 Type 2 certification and is audited annually. Security is our highest priority and is an integral part of how we operate." – Nira
Sign in with Googlebutton.
Please note that login to Nira requires your Google work email account and password.
Once you login to Nira, you will see a list of all the documents, shared drives, and folders you own. If you'd like to see specific details about an individual item, take the steps below.
You can see the status of your shared links by clicking on the Protect icon on the left panel.
Access to documents can be removed from the document details pane as well.
Changing the link type, transferring ownership, adding or removing a collaborator, copying a link, and deleting an item can be done quite easily.
Actions such as changing the link type, transferring ownership, removing a collaborator, and deleting an item can be taken on more than one item at once in bulk.
Four bulk actions can be taken: change link type, transfer ownership, remove collaborator, and delete.
Changing the link type for more than one item can be done in a few steps.
Removing a single or many collaborators in bulk can be done in a few steps.
Adding a collaborator in bulk can be done in a few steps.
Searching for documents in Nira can be done using Nira’s filters.
Your administrator may need you to delete documents that are past their document retention criteria. Please check with your manager or review the handbook for more details on document retention.
Your administrator may request that you make changes to your documents. These actions can include delete, add collaborator, change link type, transfer ownership, or remove collaborator. See steps below on how to make changes using a request review link.
The “Audit log” area captures all the actions you have taken in Nira. Here you can see what changes you made and more details about those changes.
The “Protect access” area is where you can review all Google Workspace items you own and make changes to them as well as search and filter.
Displays all the documents, folders, and shared drives you own.
This area expands and will show you all the items you own that have Public and Company links on them. You can click on Company or Public to drill in further.
This area will show you all the items you own that have been shared with an external domain. Outside Access does not include personal email accounts.
This area will show you all the items you own that have been shared with a personal email account such as Gmail, Hotmail, Yahoo, and other free email providers.
These two columns show you the owner of the item and their email address. When an item is part of a shared drive, there may be multiple owners (Managers). Multiple owners are shown with a +number gray circle in the Owner and Email column to the right of the name or email address.
Filters in Nira allow you to adjust the criteria for displaying the items you see.
This filter shows you which of your documents have been shared with internal employees.
This filter shows you which of your documents have been shared with an outside domain such as a partner or vendor.
This filter shows you which of your documents have been shared with a personal email account such as Gmail, Hotmail, Yahoo, and other free email providers.
This filter allows you to see which of your items have a Restricted, Company, Public, Outside, Targeted, External and Unknown link.
This filter allows you to enter an email account of a user to see if any of your items have been shared with them.
This filter allows you to enter a domain to see if that specific domain has access to any of your items.
This filter allows you to see when your items were last modified from a list of available timestamp options. You may also choose a specific date range.
This filter allows you to see when your items were created from a list of available timestamp options. You may also choose a specific date range.
This filter allows you to enter an identifier to retrieve the item associated with it. An item identifier is the unique key that is associated with each item.
This filter allows you to sort through your items by type (e.g. Google Doc, folder, shared drive, Word, Excel, etc).
This filter allows you to search for items based on words in the title.
This filter will be on by default. It hides invalid data from Google’s APIs for last modified dates.
There are 4 types of links in Google Workspace. Google Workspace link types
There are 3 collaborator types in Google workspace.