Gitlab hero border pattern left svg Gitlab hero border pattern right svg

GitLab Offboarding Guidelines

Offboarding Issue

Before starting an offboarding issue, make sure that the team member's resignation or termination has been discussed and cleared with at least the member of the executive team to whom the team member (in)directly reports.

When it is time for offboarding, create a new confidential issue for former team member using the offboarding template using the dropdown, and edit it for applicability to the individual. Please update the checklist as more steps arise.

Note: If the team member is transitioning to a temporarily positioned contractor, please proceed with the full offboarding and create a separate onboarding issue to grant only specific temporary access for what they would need to fulfill their contractual obligations.

Tools Offboarding

G Suite

People Operations specialist will follow the below steps to set up an auto-response that notifies the sender that the team member they are trying to reach is no longer with GitLab and who to contact.

  1. Add the team member's email as an alias to the former_employees@gitlab.com's email account.
  2. Set up a routing rejection rule for the team member by;
    1. Navigate to Google admin portal then Apps > G Suite > Gmail > Advanced settings > Routing > Routing.
    2. Hover over the routing option and click on Add another. Please enter a name below the tittle "Routing" with lastname firstname rejection rule
    3. Check the option Inbound and Internal-receiving under Messages to affect.
    4. Check Only affect specific envelope recipients under the Envelope filter tittle.
    5. Enter the team members's email address right below the tittle Email address.
    6. Under the tittle For the above types of messages, do the following, please change from Modify message to Reject message.
    7. Add the appropriate template per team member's department under the Customize rejection notice
    8. Scroll down and click on Add setting and then on Save at the bottom (once the window closes).

After 30 days, once you receive a notification that the former team member's offboarding issue is due, delete their gsuite account now refered to as former_username@gitlab.com. You will receive a prompt to transfer their docs, please transfer to the manager's email.

Slack

People Operations Specialist check if the team member has created any bots before disabling the account. Go to Slack or on your admin Slack profile click Menu » Configure Apps » Custom Integrations » Bots and search through the bots' list for the team member. If a bot exists, please DM the manager to confirm if the bot should be removed.

Team Page

Navigate to the team.yml file. Using WED IDE or your editor of choice, search the team member name and delete their team page entry. Don't forget to delete the image by navigating to Source/images/team while still here and search for their image. Ideally saved as firstnamelastname.png. The images are in alphabetical order. To remove pet entry and any mentions from the handbook and documention, you will need to download the www-gitlab-com project to your computer and use a prefered text editor.

To download;

  1. Navigate to the Gitlab.com project
  2. On the far right corner, click Clone and copy the clone with SSH URL, git@gitlab.com:gitlab-com/www-gitlab-com.git
  3. On your command line, run git clone git@gitlab.com:gitlab-com/www-gitlab-com.git This downloads the project to your computer mostly on the document folder. Consider going through the Clone a repository and the Command Line documents to understand further.

To Find All using Atom;

  1. Download Atom at atom.io
  2. After installing, click Open Project on the Welcome Guide Page.
  3. Choose www-gitlab-com project from your Documents folder
  4. On the Find tab drop down menu, click Find in Project
  5. Search all variations of the departing team members name; firstname, lastname and gitlab username.
  6. Follow the File path given in the results on the WEB IDE and delete all the mentions, make sure to replace any mentions you deem appropriate with who is standing in for the position. DO NOT delete any blog mentions.

Code Ownership

Code ownership by departing team members should be transferred to their successors, supervisors, or other appropriate colleagues by editing their entries in the relevant CODEOWNERS files.