Renewal opportunities will be automatically created upon initial creation (or renewal) of a subscription, and assigned to the current Account Owner.
It is the opportunity owner’s responsibility to progress a renewal opportunity through the Salesforce stages, and accurately reflect the liklihood of the renewal closing & value throughout the subscription lifecycle. This includes moving to Closed Lost according to the Cancellation policy defined above, where applicable.
Close Date(s) will be aligned to the respective subscription term end date.
In the event the customer's decision to renew/cancel drags out beyond the term end date, Sales will have 30 days to close the opportunity or it should be moved to Closed Lost stage & appropriate Lost reason populated.
Duplicate opportunity records should always be set to stage
10-Duplicate. They should never be set to Closed Lost, as this distorts our renewal forecasting and churn metrics. It also has negative implications to anyone on a NET comp plan (ASM/RD/VPs).
All Closed Lost opportunities will be reviewed by Deal Desk for accuracy, as part of their standard close process. This includes deduping renewal opportunities from the web portal, and ensuring Sales hasn’t errantly Closed Lost a duplicate record.
In the event a cancelled customer returns to Gitlab, we will use the following guidelines for booking it as a Renewal vs New Business: