Gitlab hero border pattern left svg Gitlab hero border pattern right svg

Confirmation Emails

On this page


Overview

This workflow covers cases when a user says they are not receiving their confirmation email.

Check GitLab Admin

  1. In the GitLab.com Admin Area, search for the user by username or email address to confirm the account has been created. Alternatively, search using the API in your browser if needed.
    • No account? Use the Zendesk macro Account::Does not exist or if you believe it's applicable use Account::Verify self-managed or .com.
  2. Check the email address against what the user has reported.

Fix Email Address

If the user made a typo:

  1. Make sure the account in question is a new account.
  2. When viewing the user in the admin area, click Edit.
  3. Fix the email address to the correct one and save your changes.

Check Mailgun

On the first attempt, if our email system could not get through (usually server says it's non-existent or similar), then our mail server will put a suppression on sending further emails.

  1. Log in to Mailgun using the supporteam credentials in the Support Team vault in 1Password.
  2. Click on the Logs tab.
  3. Search the logs using the search on the right for the particular email address and see if email is being bounced or delayed.

Removing a Suppression in Mailgun

  1. In the list of views at the top, select Suppressions.
  2. Ensure the left side drop down has mg.gitlab.com selected.
  3. Search for the email address on the right side.
  4. Select the relevant entry and delete it.

Removing a Suppression in Zendesk

  1. Click the Apps button located in the top right of the Zendesk interface.
  2. Scroll down to the Email Suppressions app located below the tag locker app.
  3. Search for the email address using the search field.
  4. If a suppression is found you may optionally click the copy button to save the log from Mailgun to your clipboard that you can then paste into an internal comment on the ticket.
  5. Click the Remove the suppression? button.

Once the suppression is removed you can then use the quick links menu that is displayed to either resend a new confirmation email, send a password reset email, or perform another search.

Resend Confirmation Email

Once the problem has been fixed, you can send the user a new confirmation email.

Let the user know you've sent a new confirmation email and ask them to check their inbox and spam folders.