You can purchase a license for GitLab Enterprise Edition (self-hosted) or for GitLab.com (hosted by GitLab) on our Customer Portal with a credit card.
If you've added more users to your GitLab EE instance during the past period than you were licensed for, we need to add these additional users to your subscription.
Without adding these users during the renewal process, your license key will not work.
You can find the number of users over license by going to the
/admin section of your GitLab instance (e.g.
https://example.gitlab.com/admin). This can also be found by clicking the admin wrench in the navbar of your instance when logged in as an admin.
In the top right section of the admin dashboard, you should see the number to enter when asked this during the renewal process.
Every person with a GitLab account on the instance is a user and is counted in the subscription. Only active users count towards total user count. Blocked users do not count, nor do Guest users in an Ultimate license.
For more detail, administrators can find user counts under the Admin wrench > Users. The Active Users tab indicates the users currently counted.
It is possible to obtain a free evaluation license of our enterprise edition for a 30 day period for up to 100 users. Please visit our free trial page to sign up.
When you decide to purchase a subscription, you will be issued a new license key. Should you not take out a subscription, your key will expire at the end of your evaluation period.
The seats for your license are generic and are not specific to a user. GitLab does not use a named license model.
The seats you buy can be distributed however you choose. If a user leaves your organization, you can remove or block that user to free the seat. This seat can then be used by another user.
If the additional user is added before the previous seat is blocked, note that this may result in a user over license if your maximum users has been reached.
Yes. You can add users to your subscription any time during the subscription period.
In either case, the cost will be prorated from the date of quote/purchase through the end end of the subscription period. You may also add users and pay for the users over license at renewal.
If you're using GitLab.com:
If you've subscribed to a self-hosted plan:
No, if your GitLab servers cover the same users, you can use the same license file for all of them.
14 days after the end of your subscription, your key will no longer work and GitLab Enterprise Edition will not be functional anymore. You will be able to downgrade to GitLab Community Edition, which is free to use.
On GitLab.com, you can purchase a plan either for your personal account or for a group.
You can use GitLab's Customer Portal at https://customers.gitlab.com. Note that you must create the group before purchasing the plan.
Please submit your request to firstname.lastname@example.org.
We don't currently support reseller purchasing via the portal. If you are a reseller looking to purchase GitLab on behalf of your client, please get in touch with us using the Contact Us sales form. If you include your billing contact name and email, your physical billing address, and the end customer's name, email address and shipping address, we will send you (not your customer) a resellers quote which you can execute either with a credit card or an EFT.
You can find details on our reseller program at https://about.gitlab.com/resellers/program.